Friday, September 22, 2023
HomeTemple News10 temples of south India. 

10 temples of south India. 

1 Brihadishvara Temple

 Brihadishvara temple is known as Rajarajeshwaram, locally known as Thanjai Periya Kovil, and Peruvudaiyar Kovil is a Vedic Hindu temple dedicated to the god Shiva and is located on the south bank of the Cauvery river in Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu, India. It is recorded as one of the largest Hindu Temples and an exemplar of fully realized Tamil architecture. It is called Dakshina Meru. Below down found detailed information about 10 Temples Of South India.

Temple timings. 

Morning: 6:00 am to 12:30 pm.

Evening: 4:00 pm to 8:30 pm.

The main deity and the inner sanctum are closed between 12:30 pm to 4:00 pm 

Special darshan tickets cost Rs 5.00/- 

On Sundays and during the Shiva festival colossal crowds will be there. 

2 Ramanathaswamy Temple 

This temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and is located on Rameswaram island in the state of Tamil Nadu, India. It is also one of the 12 jyotirlinga temples. 275 Paadal Petra Sthalams, where three of the most revered Nayanars (Saivite saints), Appar, Sundarar, and Tirugnana Sambandar, have glorified the temple with their songs. An interesting fact about this temple is that this temple has the longest corridor among all Hindu temples in India. 

Temple timings

Morning: 5:00 am to 1:00 pm 

Evening: 3:00 pm to 9:00 pm 

Special Darshan: Rs.250

Swamy Sannathi: Rs.10

Amman Temple: Rs.5

Spatika Linga Darshan Ticket Cost: Rs.50 per person

22 Wells Theertha Snan Ticket Cost: Rs.25 per person.

The Temple crowd will be high on festival days. Devotees have to wait 3-4 hours for Darshan during peak season. Temple remains open on all days. Special darshan tickets would not be available on the festival days. 

3 Padmanabha Swamy temple 

Located in Thiruvananthapuram, the capital of the state of Kerala, India. The amazing thing about this is that the name of the city of ‘Thiruvananthapuram’ in Tamil and Malayalam translates to “The city of Lord Ananta” which means (The city of Lord Vishnu) referring to the main deity of the temple. 

Temple timings 

Morning: 3:30 am to 12:00 pm

Evening: 5:00 to 8:30 pm 

Special darshan entry fees would be 150 and special darshan with prasad would be 180

 4 Ranganatha Swamy temple

Srirangam is the foremost of the eight self-manifested shrines (Swayam Vyakta Kshetras) of Lord Vishnu. Of all of the 108 main Vishnu temples, it is the first and foremost. Thriuvaranga Tirupati, Periyakoli, Bhoologa Vaikundam, and Bhogamandabam are the names that are also known for this temple. The term “KOIL” in Vaishnava parlance signifies the temple only. The temple is immense in size. 

Temple timings 

Morning: 6:00 am to 12:00pm 

Evening: 1:00pm to 9:00 pm 

The temple will be closed for the pooja and Devotees will not be allowed to visit inside. 

5 kailasanathar Temple 

Dedicated to Lord Shiva, it is one of the oldest surveying monuments, it is located in Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, India.  The main sanctum is surrounded by nine shrines, seven outside and two inside flanking the sanctum’s entrance, all with Shiva’s forms. 

Temple timings

Morning: 6:00 am to 12:00 pm 

Evening: 4:00 to 7:00 pm 

No entry fees are required for the Darshan. 

6 vadakkunnathan temple 

Vadakkunnathan temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Shiva and located in Thrissur city in the state of Kerala. You can see here the temple murals which are rare to find because this temple is the most famous one today. Vasukishayana and Nrithanatha murals are of great importance and are worshipped daily. The temple also houses a museum of ancient wall paintings, wood carvings, and art pieces of ancient times. 

Temple timings 

Morning: 4:00 am to 11:00 am 

Evening: 5:00pm to 8:20 pm 

There are no entry fees required for the darshan of Lord Shiva. 

7 Jagannath Temple, Puri 

Dedicated to the Lord Vishnu one of the trinity of supreme divinity in Hinduism, Jagannath temple is an important Hindu temple in the state of Odisha on the eastern coast of India. Festivals are celebrated there like a chariot and its annual Ratha Yatra Puri is famous and known for these things. The Chariot festival pulls three principal deities on huge and elaborately decorated temple cars. The image of Jagannath is made of wood and not like the other images built with stone and metal icons that image is being replaced every 12 or 19 years.

Temple timings

Every day from 5:00 Am to 10:00 Pm. 

No entry fees are there for Darshan. 

8 Ranganatha Temple, Nellore

It is a Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Ranganatha a resting form of Lord Vishnu. This temple also called a Ranganathaswami temple or Ranganayakulu is one of the oldest temples in Nellore, Andhra Pradesh. It is located on the Penna River banks and is believed to have been constructed in the 12th century.

Temple timings

Morning: 6:00 Am to 12:00 Pm

Evening: 2:00 Pm to 9:00 Pm. 

9 Ananthapura Lake Temple

It is built in the middle of the lake in the little village of Ananthapura, around 6km from the town of Kumbla in Manjeshwaram Taluk of Kasaragod District of Kerala, south India. It is the only lake temple in Kerela. Everyone over there believes that this is the original seat where Lord has settled down.

Temple timings

Morning: 7:30 Am to 1 Pm

Evening: 5:30 Pm to 8:00 Pm 

10 Gnana Saraswati Temple, Basar

Dedicated to Goddess Saraswati located at the banks of the river Godavari at Basar Telangana India. Saraswati is the Hindu God of knowledge and learning. Children are brought to the temple for the learning ceremony called Akshara Abraham

 Temple timings

Morning: 7:30 Am to 12:30 Pm 

Evening: 2:00 Pm to 8:30 Pm



0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -
Rann Utsav

Recent Comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x