Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeEventsHaridwar Mahakumbh Mela 2021

Haridwar Mahakumbh Mela 2021

Haridwar Mahakumbh Mela 2021

As per expectations, Haridwar Maha Kumbh will attract approx 5 crore people.

They will consist of sadhus from the 13 akhadas, devotees and tourists from all over the world. The government administration has already begun preparing.  Efficient management and strict security will be in place well in advance.

Haridwar Maha Kumbh Mela 2021 Bathing Dates

Makar Sankranti Snan 14th January 2021
Mauni Amavasya Snan11th February 2021
Basant Panchami Snan16th February 2021
Magh Purnima Snan27th February 2021
Mahashivratri Shahi Snan11th March 2021
Somvati Amavasya Shahi Snan12th April 2021
Baisakhi Shahi Snan14th April 2021
Ram Navmi Snan21st April 2021
Chaitra Purnima Shahi Snan27th April 2021

Kumbh Mela Happens After How Many Years?

The Iconic Kumbh Mela, also known as Maha Kumbh happen once every 12 years. The Haridwar  Kumbh Mela (or Haridwar Ka Mela) will start from 14th January and will end on 27th April 2021.
The first Snan of the Mahakumbh 2021 is on 14th of January, which is also Makar Sankranti.
The Maha Kumbh Community has announced the dates of Haridwar Kumbh Mela Sahi Snan. Millions of devotees are waiting for the First Shahi Snan of Mahakumbh on 11th March 2021. This day is of Mahashivratri.
Other than Haridwar, Kumbh Mela happens at Trimbakeshwar(Nashik), Prayagraj and Ujjain. As per belief, Haridwar Kumbh is the original Kumbh Mela site. This mega event has been taking place since time immemorial.

Kumbh Mela is the largest peaceful gathering of humans anywhere in the world.

What’s behind Kumbh Mela History?

Samudra Manthan – the churning of the ocean.

The purpose of performing Samudra Manthan was to get Amrit – the nectar of immortality. The Devas and the Asuras were competing for this prize. Many amazing things emerged from the ocean due to the churning.
It includes Kamadhenu(wish-granting cow), 14 priceless gems, Parijat(the ever blossoming tree). Along with Varuni (wine) and a dreadful poison that could destroy the world were some of what emerged.
The moon – Chandra Dev also came out and Mahadev adorned the Moon on his head. Mahadev swallowed the poison to save the world, this turned his neck blue.  Mata Lakshmi also emerged and chose to marry Lord Vishnu. 
In the end emerged Dhanvantari (the Divine physician), holding the pot of Amrit. There was a struggle for the pot between the Devas and Asuras.
Seeing this, Garuda (Lord Vishnu’s mount) flew away with the pot and four drops fell in various places on the earth. These places are Haridwar, Prayagraj, Trimbakeshwar, and Ujjain. Where Kumbh Melas happens every 12 years.


What is Maha Kumbh?

The Haridwar Purna Kumbh Mela is of particular significance. As per belief, this is the original site of Kumbh. Mahakumbh is a term also used for this mela. But the actual Mahakumbh is the one that happens after 12 Kumbh Melas or once every 144 years at Prayagraj. 

Kumbh Mela happens when the planets are in particular conjunction with Zodiac signs. This configuration happens once in twelve years. When Jupiter is in Aquarius, the Sun in Aries and the Moon in Sagittarius.
Note that ancient India had achieved mastery in astronomy and astrology. This was long before the rest of the world woke up to them.

Sadhus at Maha Kumbh

The one outstanding feature of Kumbh is the Sadhus and the ‘Akhadas’. The sea of sadhus gathered in uncountable numbers is a sight to behold.
Covered with ash and huge ‘Jatas” atop their heads. They are clad in saffron robes with Rudraksha malas around their necks. Some of them are riding on elephants and camels. Some ride of gold or silver-colored chariots pulled by devotees.
In their hands are Trishuls, Damrus, Kamandal, and Tongs. On their tongues are chants of ‘Har Har Mahadev’!
Sadhus – an integral part of Kumbh Melas have their own affiliations and are usually part of an Akhada. They are the very soul of Kumbh Mela. There are 13 principal akhadas in India. Each with their own traditions and regulations.

Sadhus Are Of Five Types:

  • Naga Sadhus –  These are the naked sadhus, with long matted hair. They wear no clothes at all. They cover their bodies with ash and can tolerate extreme temperatures.
  • Urdhva Vahur –  These are practitioners of severe austerities and penance. Their bodies are skeleton-like.
  • Parivrajaka – These are ‘Maunis’.  They have taken a vow of silence and never speak.
  • Shirshasani –  These Sadhus meditate standing on their heads (Shirshasana). They remain standing, they even sleep standing, with only their head resting on a pole.
  • Kalpavasis –  These sadhus live on the river banks. They spend their time meditating, performing rituals and bathing frequently in the river.
Sadhus of Kumbh Mela
Maha Kumbh Sadhus

Rivers And Mahakumbh

Rivers are an essential feature of Hindu spiritualism. Almost everything revolves around them. Rivers are our mothers – givers of life. All the Kumbh Melas happens on the banks of rivers like:
  • Haridwar – Ganga
  • Ujjain – Shipra
  • Prayagraj – Sangam of Ganga, Yamuna, Saraswati
  • Nashik –  Godavari.
Bathing in the rivers is an indispensable ritual at Kumbh Melas.
In Haridwar, there are many bathing ghats on the river Ganga. Some of the more important ghats of Haridwar are:
  • Har ki Pauri
  • Ashthi Pravat Ghat
  • Gau Ghat
  • Sapt Sarovar Kshetra Ghat
  • Sarvanand Ghat
  • Kangra Ghat
  • Ganesh Ghat
  • Sati Ghat
  • Daksheshwar Ghat
  • Sita Ghat
After bathing, devotees do charity and feed the poor. Millions take the holy dip braving the freezing weather with unshakable faith. Knowing immeasurable spiritual rewards are the result of the dip.

The count-down to the biggest show on earth has begun.

5 2 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -
Rann Utsav

Recent Comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x